Wine Wednesday!

Ah, Wine Wednesday on the first week that I’ve really been able to feel like Fall is on its way! You have no idea how much that excites me. Fall is my absolute favorite season- the weather, the scents, the food, the holidays, the fact that I can start breaking out my heavy-drinking reds!

In honor of that deep-seeded love of Fall,  for today’s wine exploration, here is a lovely Cabernet Sauvignon from Koyle.

wine wednesday

This Chilean red is a 2008 that I purchased for $16. I will say that it was tasty, especially since I can be particular about wines from Chile. If you are into Cabs or Chilean wines, I’d recommend giving this one a try!

My notes:

  • color- dark plum
  • scent- rich, grassy
  • spice
  • notes of dark fruits, plum
  • a light earthiness

The experts:

Winemaker’s notes from wine.com-  “Intense ruby red color, the aroma is all about ripe black cherry, dried herbs, tobacco and dark coffee flavors. Plenty of freshness, the palate is all about red berries with a welcome note of elegant and fine tannins and a long and balanced finish. The wine can be cellared for up to five years.”

And a small review from The Wine Advocate-  “Savory, ripe, complex flavors with some elegance, excellent value.” 90 Points

Leave a Reply

