Wise words for the day


The Four Noble Truths

First Noble Truth

Life is suffering.  But by living a mindful existence we can learn to avoid suffering and achieve true happiness.

Second Noble Truth

Suffering is caused by craving and aversion.  Rather than struggling to achieve everything we want, we should modify our wanting.  Wanting deprives us of true happiness and contentment.

Third Noble Truth

Suffering can be overcome and happiness can be attained.  True happiness is possible.  If we give up useless craving and learn to live each day at a time (not dwelling in the past or worrying about the future) then we can become happy and free.  We then have more time and energy to help others.  This is Nirvana.

Fourth Noble Truth

Nirvana can be achieved by perfecting our understanding of the world, acting out of true love and compassion, using only true, uplifting, non-harmful communication, acting in an ethical manner, living a life which does not exploit others, consciously working to better ourselves, developing complete awareness of ourselves and the world around us, and by developing not only complete consciousness and awareness in mind, but in being.

Taken from Thich Nhat Hahn’s Peace is Every Step. A short, easy, comforting read, if you’re interested.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s