Roanoke Restaurant: Alejandro’s

Alejandro’s

  • Dress:  casual
  • Food:  Mexican
  • Price:  $
  • Hours:  11 am – 10pm M-Th, 11 am – 11 pm F-Sat, noon- 9 pm Sun
  • Alcohol:  yes
  • Outdoor dining:  yes
  • Good for:  friends evening out, happy hour, couples looking for a casual meal, families
  • Overall Rating: ****
  • website:  http://alejandrosmexicangrill.com/
  •     Alejandro’s is a smaller Mexican restaurant that opened downtown back in 2007.  They opened a second location in North Roanoke a year later, and I believe have now opened one in the New River Valley.

        This experience is from the Hollins location in North Roanoke.  I prefer this location because of the size of the restaurant and it is closer to where I live.  The downtown one is easily overcrowded some nights and this makes it difficult to get to the salsa bar.  Salsa bar, you say?  Yup.  This is one of the distinguishing features of Alejandro’s making it a little different from some of the area’s other Mexican eateries.  There are 12 different salsas on the salsa bar that you can choose from to accompany your chips– which are of course obligatory for any Mexican restaurant.  This visit I went with a combo mixture of the Hot and Mild regular tomato-based salsa and tried the cold cucumber salsa, which was yummy!    I’m a fan of most of the salsas that I’ve tried but I do find that other than the one Hot sauce, many lack heat, so I always try to mix a little of that in to what whichever type I’m getting. 

       Often when I eat here with friends, I’ve seen them get several different entrees, some of which look great, some not so much.  But I pretty much always go with the grilled chicken quesadilla.   Sometimes I do feel like this is a copout- but you have to understand, this place makes the BEST quesadillas!  Seriously, they are just so yummy I can almost never bring myself to get anything else!  I did decide to accompany tonight’s quesadilla with a strawberry margarita (which was huge btw) and quite good as well.  My dining companion also had a quesadilla (cheese) and I don’t believe that I heard any complaints!

        The overall atmosphere at the restaurant is pretty laid back and festive.  The decor isn’t too cheesy or anything, there are always TVs showing the latest soccer games, and service is almost always on the ball.  I’d definitely recommend Alejandro’s for a casual night out with family or friends!

    Leave a Reply

    